“Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience,…” (Col 3:12)

How does God look at you when you strive for holiness and when you are seeking to be pleasing to Him?

Does God sit up in heaven, arms crossed, as He watches your attempts to be obedient? Does He constantly get frustrated, as the sinner that you are, fails again and again to live up to what He wants? Does He sit above you with a disciplinary rod in His hand waiting to smack you when you disobey again?

Praise the merciful Lord that it is not so for the believer! Instead, our Father’s disposition towards us is almost unfathomable. He looks at us, redeemed sinners by the blood and says, “Holy, Beloved, put on godliness.”

Holy…Beloved…can it be! Am I holy and beloved in my state of constant failings? Am I holy and beloved while there is still so much ungodliness in my life? My God says, Yes!

I am Holy! not because I have any works of my own to plead. I am still fighting and succumbing  to so many sins. My perfect righteousness is found in the Christ with whom I am in union with. “And because of him you are in Christ Jesus, who became to us wisdom from God, righteousness and sanctification and redemption” (1 Cor. 1:30).  His perfect righteousness is  my perfect righteousness; His perfect obedience is my perfect obedience.

I am Beloved! God is now my Father. Not because there was anything lovely in me, but because He has love which overflows from Himself. I was condemned under His righteous law. “But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons. And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!” So you are no longer a slave, but a son, and if a son, then an heir through God” (Gal 4:4-7). “See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God” (1 John 3:1a).

That is how God is looking at me when I strive for holiness: as a holy, beloved child! One that is clothed in the perfect righteousness of Christ! One whom He has made His very own son, to whom He will give the very inheritance of Christ too!

Though your obedience to God’s law is defiled and imperfect, Christ’s obedience is perfect and complete. And God has not only forgiven you your sins but has also credited to you that spotless obedience of Christ. God does want to work in you and with you to deal with your sins, but He does so as your Father, not your Judge. ~Jerry Bridges (emphasis mine)

He knew what they were before conversion – wicked, guilty, and defiled; yet He loved them. He knows what they will be after conversion – weak, erring, and frail; yet He loves them. He has undertaken to save them, notwithstanding all their shortcomings, and what He has undertaken He will perform.~ J.C. Ryle

