And he withdrew from them about a stone’s throw, and knelt down and prayed, saying, “Father, if you are willing, remove this cup from me. Nevertheless, not my will, but yours, be done.” Luke 22:41-42
_________________________

As we watch Jesus pray in agony in Gethsemane, He has every right to turn His tearful eyes toward you and me and shout, “This is your cup. Your’re responsible for this. It’s your sin! You drink it.” This cup should rightfully be thrust into my hand and yours

Instead, Jesus freely takes it Himself…so that from the cross He can look down at you and me, whisper our names, and say, “I drained this cup for you–for you who have lived in defiance of Me, who have hated Me, who have opposed Me. I drink it all..for you.”

Not only will He leave nothing in that cup of wrath for us to drink…but today you and I find ourselves with another cup in our hands. It’s the cup of salvation. From this precious new cup we find ourselves drinking and drinking–drinking consistently, drinking endlessly, drinking eternally…for the cup of salvation is always full and overflowing.

~C. J. Mahaney, Living the Cross Centered Life, p. 82

