“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28)

What qualifications must I have in order to be accepted by Jesus? Well, He spells it out for me: laboring and heavy laden.

Laboring: toiling hard in this life. Life is hard, there is no doubt about it. There are relationships that constantly go array. Needs that seem to go unmet. The constant grind of day to day living with nothing getting better.

Heavy Laden: living with a massive weight upon my shoulders.I can begin with all the failures from the laborings. No matter how hard a try I cannot get my life in order. I work hard and people still get mad at me and I at them. I fail to do the day to day things that need to be done. But on top of my personal failure there is even a greater failure. It is my inability to keep the righteous commands of my Lord. I can’t keep the commands to love my God and to love my neighbor. It light of all this I walk around with a heavy burden upon my back.

Yet, there is Jesus saying, “Come to me! Give me those burden to bear. I want to give you true rest.” He does not want people who think that they have it all together. He does not want people who believe that this life is easy. He does not want people who feel no guilty weight upon their shoulders. It is to those that see and feel their labors and burdens that He says, “Come!”

Do I have burdens? Yes. Am I weighted down with my sin? Yes. Am I too weak to continue to carry the load? Yes.

I qualify!

